Axis 3. New actors, new reconfigurations of political power?

This axis questions the place of digital networks, both within existing organizations of the public sphere and within new types of movements which have recently emerged. Indeed, citizens, activists groups with varying degrees of formalisation, or even certain new types of political parties with uncertain territorial binding make good use of digital opportunities to promote their ideas and to express critical views against institutional and partisan organizations that have embodied political engagement until now.

Chair : VIncent SIMOULIN (University of Toulouse-le-Mirail, France)

Speakers :
Nicolas BAYGERT (LASCO – Laboratoire d’Analyse des Systèmes de Communication des Organisations, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgique et CELSA, Université Paris IV-Sorbonne, France): Digital activism in terms of political consumerism: Pirates and Tea Partiers under the microscope.
Read the abstract.

Clément MABI (Laboratoire COSTECH, Université de Technologie de Compiègne, France) et  Anaïs THEVIOT (Sciences po Bordeaux, Centre Emile Durkheim, France) : The renovation via the web? Digital devices and evolution of PS activism.
Read the abstract.
Download the paper.
Download the presentation.

Clémence PENE (Laboratoire des théories du politique (LabTop), Université Paris 8, France) : The « experts » of online politics, from Solferino to Chicago.
Read the abstract.
Download the paper.

Discussant : Eric GEORGE (University of Quebec in Montreal, Canada)
Download the paper.

Speakers :
Davide BERALDO (Graduate School in Social and Political Sciences, University of Milan, Italy) and Juan GALAN-PAEZ (Department of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence, University of Seville, Spain): The #OCCUPY network on Twitter and the challenges to social movements theory and research.
Read the abstract.
Download the presentation.

Chang Sup PARK (College of Mass Communication and Media Arts, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, USA) : Political carnivalism: digital media use and a new political participation in South Korea.
Read the abstract.
Download the presentation.

Discussant : Karolina KOC MICHALSKA, Centre de recherches politiques de Science Po, France)

Axe 3. De nouveaux acteurs, de nouvelles reconfigurations du pouvoir politique ?

Cet axe interroge la place des réseaux numériques à la fois au sein des organisations existantes dans la sphère publique et dans le cadre de la constitution de nouveaux types de mouvements. En effet, des citoyens, des collectifs plus ou moins formalisés, voire de nouveaux types de partis aux ancrages territoriaux incertains tirent profit des opportunités numériques d’expression pour promouvoir leurs idées et opérer la critique des organisations institutionnelles et partisanes dans lesquelles s’est jusqu’alors incarné l’engagement politique.

Président : Vincent SIMOULIN (Université Toulouse-le-Mirail, France)

Intervenants :
Nicolas BAYGERT (LASCO – Laboratoire d’Analyse des Systèmes de Communication des Organisations, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgique et CELSA, Université Paris IV-Sorbonne, France): L’activisme numérique au regard du consumérisme politique: Pirates et Tea Partiers sous la loupe.
Lire le résumé.

Clément MABI (Laboratoire COSTECH, Université de Technologie de Compiègne, France) et  Anaïs THEVIOT (Sciences po Bordeaux, Centre Emile Durkheim, France) : La rénovation par le web? Dispositifs numériques et évolution du militantisme au PS.
Lire le résumé.
Télécharger le texte.
Télécharger la présentation.

Clémence PENE (Laboratoire des théories du politique (LabTop), Université Paris 8, France) : Les « experts » de la politique en ligne, de Solferino à Chicago.
Lire le résumé.
Télécharger le texte.

Discutant : Eric GEORGE (Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada)
Télécharger le texte.

Intervenants
Davide BERALDO (Graduate School in Social and Political Sciences, University of Milan, Italy) and Juan GALAN-PAEZ (Department of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence, University of Seville, Spain): The #OCCUPY network on Twitter and the challenges to social movements theory and research.
Lire le résumé.
Télécharger la présentation.

Chang Sup PARK (College of Mass Communication and Media Arts, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, USA) : Political carnivalism: digital media use and a new political participation in South Korea.
Lire le résumé.
Télécharger la présentation.

Discutante : Karolina KOC MICHALSKA, Centre de recherches politiques de Science Po, France)